Our Partners in Leadership

APC Board of Directors

Our Partners in Leadership

APC Board of Directors

by smartstart

The APC is governed by a 28-member board of directors. The agency bylaws name the positions for each board member, and 18 appointments to the board are made by the Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the APC Executive Committee.

There are also ten ex-officio directors who hold positions on the APC Board due to their positions in the government of the State of Alabama. Those positions are as follows: Attorney General, State Superintendent of Education, Commissioner of the Alabama Medicaid Agency, Secretary of the Department of Early Childhood Education, Director of the Office of School Readiness, Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources, State Public Health Officer, Commissioner of the Department of Rehabilitation Services, Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health, and Executive Director of the Department of Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention

Board Members

The Honorable Frank McGuire

Chair, APC Board
District Judge,
Covington County District Court

Dr. Susan Hubbard

Vice Chair, APC Board
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Auburn University
Owner, Craft Master Printers

Margaret Morton

Treasurer, APC Board
Executive Director,
SAFE Family Services

Mary Blankson, M.D.

Child Care Health Consultant & Trainer

Cassandra Copeland

Early Learning Center Executive Director
First Church Birmingham

Mary Davis

Executive Director
Childcare Resource Network

Samita Jeter

Lowndes County Head Start Director

Lynn Jinks

Jinks, Crow, & Dickson, P.C.

Mike Jordan

External Affairs Manager
Alabama Power

Robert Powers

Co-Founder and Qualifying Broker &
Financial Representative
The Eufaula Agency

Van Richey

President & CEO
American Cast Iron Pipe Company

Dr. Gale D. Satchel

Colbert County School District, Alabama

Dr. Patricia Sims

J.F. Drake State
Community and Technical College

John Waits, M.D.

Chief Executive Officer and Program Director
Cahaba Medical Care

Ex-Officio Board Members

Stephanie Azar

Acting Commissioner
Alabama Medicaid Agency

Dr. Pamela Truelove-Walker

Senior Director, Early Learning and Early Education
Alabama Department of Early Childhood Education

Nancy Buckner 

Department of Human Resources

Jane Elizabeth Burdeshaw

Department of Rehabilitation Services

Sallye Longshore

Executive Director
Department of Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention

Dr. Scott Harris

State Health Officer
Department of Public Health

Kim Boswell

Department of Mental Health

Dr. Eric Mackey

State Department of Education

Steve Marshall

Attorney General